The Toledo Design Collective is inspiring transformative growth through urban planning and thoughtful design.

Who We Are

As a non-profit organization, our full-time staff, supported by our active volunteer board, is dedicated to improving the function and aesthetic of the Toledo region.

Our expertise and passion stems from decades of combined experience as architects, city planners, urban developers, community leaders and devoted Toledo residents.

Long-Lasting Impact

Prioritizing urban planning and design impacts quality of life, making Toledo a more desirable place to live, work and play. Our impact is both long-term and short-term—engaging communities in an immediate conversation and casting an ongoing vision for the future.

Positive Outcomes
  • Engages communities
  • Increases sense of belonging in neighborhoods
  • Increases tourism and urban development
  • Increases environmental sustainability
  • Improves traffic flow
  • Repurposes previously vacant structures and land

Studio Director

Elizabeth Ellis

Elizabeth works to increase awareness of the TDC’s mission that thoughtful urban design and planning should be a right of everyone, not a privilege of few. She has fostered meaningful relationships with neighborhood organizations through her passion of equity through sustainable urban design. Elizabeth has been with the Toledo Design Collective since 2017. She is a Toledo native and a graduate of Kent State University, with master’s degrees in Architecture and Urban Design.

Project Manager

Molly Burns

Molly coordinates the design process between neighborhood stakeholders, the volunteer board, and the TDC studio. She approaches design and community engagement with great sensitivity and care, always considering those most vulnerable and impacted by urban development. Inspired by TDC's mission and outreach, Molly moved to Toledo for the job upon graduating from Miami University with a bachelor's degree in Architecture and a minor in Urban Design in 2020.

Our Executive Board

Paul Hollenbeck

TDC Co-Chair. Paul Hollenbeck, AIA, holds almost 50 years of mostly Midwest architecture, urban design, and planning experience. He's spent much of the last ten years as a TDC volunteer.

Linda Beall

TDC Committee on Directors Chair+ Outreach Chair. Linda is an Architect and Asst. Teaching Professor, School of the Built Environment, Bowling Green State University. She holds an M. Arch from the Southern California Institute of Architecture and a M.F.A. from Pratt Institute.

Bill Thomas

TDC Treasurer. Bill has an extensive real estate background specializing in acquisition, disposition, site selection and all facility management disciplines.

Mike Young

TDC Secretary. Mike received a BS in Landscape Architecture from Michigan State University and is now retired from the City of Toledo, University of Toledo and U.S Army.  He's been active for over 10 years with the TDC.

Jennifer Van Horn

TDC Co-Chair. Jennifer is the Vice President of Construction and Planning at the Toledo Zoo. She received her Master of Architecture from Miami University.

Martin Jarret

TDC Projects Committee Chair. Martin received an engineering degree from Northeastern and Master of City Planning from Georgia Tech. He has 40 years of diverse planning and community development experience.